my most important 2008 insight

for me 2008 is ending with a blast! camera technology has advanced beyond anything imaginable just a decade ago and this year’s end has introduced me to a point and shoot capable of almost anything my 5d system can do. ‘almost’. definitely not everything. but it fits in the palm of my hand and i find that amazing!

 

Sony F828

Sony F828

 

Canon 5D

Canon 5D

for years i’ve been following the web, reading camera reviews, comparisons, technical specifications, downloading sample images and most important, reading comments written by real users. in the digital age i have owned at least 7 cameras, three of them “prosumers” and two dslrs. i realise that’s not a whole lot, but, i do have some experience. i can’t deny i am effected by trends, by what i read on the internet, by a desire to own the next best camera, the one that boasts one more feature i don’t yet have … and every time it’s a short nirvana until the next thing …

Canon 20D

Canon 20D

 

Sony F828

Sony F828

aren’t we forgetting the goal? the equipment should only be a means, not the goal itself. aren’t we in it to make beautiful, exciting, moving photos? when you look at a great frame what’s more important, megapixels or composition? film, digital or light? sure, there are minimal technical requirements but almost all modern cameras today can deliver that minimum, both p&s and dslrs. when you look at a great frame do you feel it is great because of  high iso performance, lcd screen quality, file writing speed or megapixels? can you tell what the sensor size was?

 

Canon 20D

Canon 20D

 

Canon 20D

Canon 20D

to make a great frame what it takes is a strong composition, control or consciousness of light, intimacy with your subject, passion, creativity, your heart and a lot of luck. i want to make viewers of my photos feel – that can’t be accomplished with an f number!

Canon 20D

Canon 20D

 

Sony F717

Sony F717

what’s the point of all this rambling? am i trying to convince myself? maybe. but to summarise my photographic 2008 i think this is the most important insight i have achieved and i look forward to putting it to practice in 2009, hopefully creating beautiful moving images with the g10.

 

Canon 5D

Canon 5D

 

something you might want to look at 

a great 2009 to us all!

3 Comments

Filed under images, photo, photograph, photography, photos

3 responses to “my most important 2008 insight

  1. Johnathan Thomas

    A friend of mine says, “gear is good, vision is better.” It’s funny to me, that I’ve only “won” contest with my little Fuji Finepix 5000. (KPOTD, Smugmug challenge)

    You have a great vision my friend. I look forward to what this year will bring too.

    I’ll try to help challenge you this year if you do the same for me. I need a good kick in the backside sometimes to get me going. 🙂

    Shalom.
    Johnathan~

  2. the portrait of the old man is too good!

  3. nir

    Thanks Joshi!

    He’s quite a famous character in Jerusalem. Has been sitting in the Old City near the Jaffa Gate every morning for years.

Leave a Reply

